Governance & Structure

In 2002 PML became an independent company limited by guarantee (clg) with charitable status; company number 4178503; charity registration number 1091222. We are governed in accordance with charity law by a Board of Trustees, who are also Directors under company law.

Our commitment to excellence extends to our governance arrangements by adopting best practice from the charity sector and from the corporate sector where appropriate.

Our current Board membership reflects the need to have both strong scientific as well as business representation.

In addition to the main Board we also have two sub-committees: The Audit & Finance Committee and Science Advisory Council.

Would you like to join our Board of Trustees?

We are always open to receiving expressions of interest from those interested in becoming Trustees as vacancies may arise from time to time.

Click here to find out more  

Senior Management Team

Professor Icarus Allen
Chief Executive
Beverly Tremain
Director of Operations & Company Secretary
Professor Steve Widdicombe
Director of Science and Deputy Chief Executive
Julia Davy
Head of Human Resources
Dr Tim Smyth
Head of Science - Marine Biogeochemistry and Observations

Heads of Science

Professor Nicola Beaumont
Head of Science - Sea and Society
Jerry Blackford
Head of Science: Marine Systems Modelling Group
Professor Pennie Lindeque
Head of Science: Marine Ecology and Biodiversity
Steve Groom
Head of Science - Earth Observation Science and Applications
Dr Tim Smyth
Head of Science - Marine Biogeochemistry and Observations

Meet our Board Members

Janice Timberlake
Chair of the Board

How we operate

Our Chief Executive, Prof. Icarus Allen, has delegated responsibility from our Board for the day-to-day running of the organisation and chairs our Senior Management Team.

Operational support is delivered through our various Heads of Group under the leadership of our Chief Executive. 

Meet the rest of the team

Organizational diagram