North East Atlantic hub of the Global Ocean Acidification Observing Network

The North East Atlantic Ocean Acidification Hub is being established to serve European countries that are conducting monitoring, and other OA activities, within the NE Atlantic region. The Global Ocean Acidification Observing Network (GOA-ON) has encouraged grass-roots formation of regional hubs to foster communities of practice for the efficient collection of comparable and geographically distributed data to assess ocean acidification and its effects and to support adaptation tools like model forecasts.

Countries within the region known to be engaged in OA research and/or with data submitted to the GOA-ON data portal: Belgium, Denmark, Faroe Islands, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, UK.


Screenshot of the Goa-on data portalThe goals and scope of the regional hub will be finalised after the inaugural workshop and discussion with the hub community. Although we envisage the hub will:

  • Share information on OA monitoring (and experimental and modelling) activities
  • Facilitate data submission to the GOA-ON data portal
  • Promote community “best practices” consistent with GOA-ON
  • Facilitate capacity building & training activities
  • Provide integration across the region


IPCC report front cover

The IPCC Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate was produced by more than 100 authors from 36 countries, using the latest scientific literature and referencing around 7000 scientific publications, and will be a key input to the upcoming UN Framework Convention on Climate Change Conference (COP25) in Chile this December.

View the report

OOS Report card front coverA new Ocean Observing System report card provides insight into the status of the global ocean observing system. The report card was created by the Joint Technical Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM) of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC).



Further Information

Executive Group meeting

The first Executive Group video conference was held on the 11th September 2019

NE Hub Workshop

The first workshop was held 12th - 13th March 2019 at the De Vere Hotel Devonport, Greenwich, London UK, organised by Plymouth Marine Laboratory.

Thérèse Coffey MP gives her support for the GOA-ON NE Atlantic Hub

4th Global GOA-ON Workshop

The 4th Global Ocean Acidification Observing Network (GOA-ON) International Workshop was held in Hangzhou, China from 14 to 17 April 2019.

Topics that were covered included:

  • Ocean and coastal acidification in a multi-stressors environment
  • Observing ocean and coastal acidification and the impacts on organisms and ecosystems
  • Regional and global modelling on physical-biogeochemical coupling processes related to ocean acidification and the associated ecosystem responses
  • Shaping GOA-ON to better meet the information needs of global to local decision makers

View the workshop summary

Read the Eos article about the workshop

Key contacts

Dr Helen Findlay, Plymouth Marine Laboratory:
Prof Steve Widdicombe, Plymouth Marine Laboratory:
Katherina Schoo (GOA-ON Secretary), IOC-UNESCO

Executive Group

Prof Steve Widdicombe (Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK) [Co-Chair]
Dr Helen Findlay (Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK) [Co-Chair]

Dr  Marta Alvarez (Instituto Español de Oceanografía, Spain)
Dr Yuri Artioli (Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK)
Dr Sinead Collins (Edinburgh University, UK) 
Dr Tarquin Dorrington (Defra, UK)
Dr Sam Dupont (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
Dr Siv Lauvset (University of Bergen, Norway)
Dr Evin McGovern (Marine Institute, Ireland)
Prof Colin Moffat (Marine Scotland, UK)
Dr Clare Ostle (Marine Biological Association, UK)
Prof Murray Roberts (Edinburgh University, UK)
Dr Ian Salter (Faroese Marine Research Institute, Faroe Islands)

View full membership

Faroe Islands

Dr. Ian Salter - Faroese Marine Research Institute, Faroe Islands


Dr. Frédéric Gazeau - Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche
Dr. Nicolas Metzl - LOCEAN/IPSL Laboratory
Sébastien Petton - IFREMER 


Prof. Eric Achterberg - GEOMAR
Dr. Mario Hoppema - Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research


Dr. Hrönn Egilsdóttir - Marine and Freshwater Research Institute
Dr. Sólveig Rósa Ólafsdóttir – Marine and Freshwater Research Institute


Dr. Evin McGovern - Marine Institute (and OSPAR)
Dr. Nessa O'Connor - Trinity College Dublin


Siv Kari Lauvset - NORCE Norwegian Research Centre AS
Dr. Are Olsen - University of Bergen and Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research 
Dr. Ingunn Skjelvan - NORCE Norwegian Research Centre AS
Dr. Martina Stiasny - Pelagic Fish Research Group, Institute of Marine Research


Dr. Tiago Repolho – MARE, Marine and Environmental Sciences Centre, University of Lisbon


Dr. Marta Alvarez - Instituto Español de Oceanografia
Prof. Dr. Melchor González-Dávila - Instituto de Oceanografía y Cambio Global (IOCAG), Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Prof. Dr. J. Magdalena Santana-Casiano - Instituto de Oceanografía y Cambio Global (IOCAG), Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria


Dr. Sam Dupont - Kristineberg Marine Research Station, University of Gothenburg 
Dr. Jon Havenhand - Tjärnö Marine Laboratory, University of Gothenburg

United Kingdom

Dr. Silvana Birchenough - Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Dr. Jerry Blackford - Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Dr. Sinead Collins - University of Edinburgh
Dr. Helen Findlay – Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Dr. Jasmin Godbold - University of Southampton
Dr. Naomi Greenwood - Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Prof. Jason Hall-Spencer – University of Plymouth
Dr. Sebastian Hennige – University of Edinburgh
Dr. Matthew Humphreys - University of East Anglia
Dr. Socratis Loucaides - National Oceanography Centre
Dr. Nova Mieszkowska – University of Liverpool and Marine Biological Association of the UK
Dr. Irene Olivé - School of Geographical and Earth Sciences, University of Glasgow
Dr. Clare Ostle – Continuous Plankton Recorder Survey, Marine Biological Association of the UK
Dr. Dave Pearce - Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Prof. J Murray Roberts – University of Edinburgh
Dr. Allison Schaap - National Oceanography Centre
Dr. Jamie Shutler – University of Exeter
Dr. Gavin Tilstone - Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Prof. Steve Widdicombe – Plymouth Marine Laboratory

Social media

Follow GOA-ON on Facebook and Twitter to be informed of updates.

Key information

Funder: DEFRA

Project start date: November 2018

Project logo

Share this page



Dr Helen Findlay
Biological Oceanographer